PDA

View Full Version : Confused about space

BetsyJ
2014-Mar-06, 01:37 AM
I'm a newbie, so forgive me if this topic has already been covered--or if this isn't the appropriate place to post my question.

Spacetime is sometimes said to be ďcurved.Ē Iíve seen the demonstration of the rubber sheet and the bowling ball. A two dimensional rubber sheet is bent or deformed through a third dimension. And yet Iíve read that curved spacetime does not require, nor does it exhibit, a curving through a fourth dimension. I donít understand this. If itís curving, itís curving through another dimensionĖhow could it be otherwise?

Also, what about the Higgs field? The Higgs field permeates space and gives some (but not all) particles their mass. If thereís no vacuum thatís not permeated by the Higgs field, can we say that space IS the Higgs Field? How would such a field be different from the (supposedly nonexistent) ether?

I personally believe that space is not a backdrop in which objects are embedded, but merely the way observers experience the separation between two objects. However, I get the feeling that physicists are saying something else.

Can anyone enlighten me on any of these topics? It would be much appreciated. (I read lots of nontechnical books on cosmology.)

Cougar
2014-Mar-06, 04:24 AM
A two dimensional rubber sheet is bent or deformed through a third dimension.

The 2-D rubber sheet is supposed to represent the entire universe. Gravity curves the sheet. You're supposed to neglect the third dimension, which isn't part of the (model 2-D) universe.

ShinAce
2014-Mar-06, 04:32 AM
I personally believe that space is not a backdrop in which objects are embedded, but merely the way observers experience the separation between two objects. However, I get the feeling that physicists are saying something else.

Can anyone enlighten me on any of these topics? It would be much appreciated. (I read lots of nontechnical books on cosmology.)