PDA

View Full Version : Cheating in the classroom - a real lack of clues

ngc3314
2004-Dec-29, 09:29 PM
I'm used to a certain level of students copying work for assigned papers in my freshman astro class, and had sort of learned not to take it personally. I've cut down on it by posing hypothetical questions (at least the ones that Neil Comins doesn't have good online essays about...). This fall, I told the class twice not to do it - it's wrong, they signed a form upon enrollment acknowledging this, and the University has a two strikes - you're out policy. I also told them not to try it since I do research for a living and can undoubtedl use Google more effectively than they can. So a few weeks ago I busted two. One was straight from Britannica. The second was more fun - three consecutive pages from a web site, including the description of a graphic which said site reproduced wth permission and a link by name pointing back to - you guessed it - my own site. Maybe it was supposed to be flattering.

But it could have been much worse. I just heard from a guy who had AY101 from me over 15 years ago, who teaches political science at a university several hundred miles north of here. He just had a cheating scandal. In his ethics course.

I'm guessing that these individuals probably were not familiar enough with the course material to have passed anyway...

jfribrg
2004-Dec-29, 09:52 PM
One dead giveaway is when the quality of the written homework and other "take home" assignments is far superior to the quality of the class and test performance.

darkhunter
2004-Dec-29, 11:07 PM
One dead giveaway is when the quality of the written homework and other "take home" assignments is far superior to the quality of the class and test performance.

Or the quality/style of the work itself is not internally consistant...

Candy
2004-Dec-29, 11:10 PM
ngc3314, I'm glad you busted the kids! =D>

I find cheating very common at the University I attend.