PDA

View Full Version : geology of Gale Crater and Mount Sharp

David Palmer
2014-Jul-30, 02:21 AM
I am an amateur scientist with a lifelong interest in Mars, and I recently finished my essay, "An Interpretation of the Geology of Gale Crater and Mount Sharp, with Implications for the History and Habitability of Mars," wherein I present a new hypothesis for the geology of the complex, and (re)introduce a lacustrine model (lake-bed sedimentation) for the strata comprising the Lower Formation of Mt. Sharp, which is something that has recently fallen out of favor (the aeolian or "SWEET" model is in vogue, but I find numerous faults with that model, and believe I have addressed all criticisms of the lacustrine model). The big test of my model will be when Curiosity reaches the base of Mt. Sharp, and my essay can be seen at:

http://galecratergeology1.tumblr.com/post/85407991682/an-interpretation-of-the-geology-of-gale-crater-mount

geonuc
2014-Jul-31, 09:41 AM
Quite an effort you put into that paper. Have you thought about or attempted peer review?

David Palmer
2014-Aug-10, 12:12 AM
Quite an effort you put into that paper. Have you thought about or attempted peer review?

Yes, I have. I sent my essay to my astronomer cousin, and she said she would look at it and get back to me, but never did. And I sent it to my old college geology teacher, and he said he would look at it and get back to me, but never did.