PDA

View Full Version : Galaxy collision/merging questions

GKMasterson
2014-Aug-17, 12:23 AM
Hello,

I hope this is the right forum for these questions (and that I'm not completely stupid for asking them). I've been re-watching Cosmos and just finished the 3rd episode where it was mentioned that the Milky Way and Andromeda galaxies will collide or merge (whatever the proper term for it is) in a few billion years. I know that there will be few (if any) star collisions during that. However, my questions are:

What will happen to the supermassive black holes at the center of both galaxies and how might their movement through the other galaxy during collision impact local (to them at that point) stars and planets?
The simulation makes it look like both galaxies are spraying out loads and loads of stars. Will stars be ejected from each galaxy during this collision?
Can a star with a planetary exist by itself in interstellar space if it is ejected from a galaxy?

I'm not a scientist (though I love the subject) and I'm no good with any mathematics beyond algebra so if you know the answer, dumb it down for me, please. :)

Thanks!

-- G.K.

antoniseb
2014-Aug-17, 10:59 AM

What will happen to the supermassive black holes at the center of both galaxies and how might their movement through the other galaxy during collision impact local (to them at that point) stars and planets?
The simulation makes it look like both galaxies are spraying out loads and loads of stars. Will stars be ejected from each galaxy during this collision?
Can a star with a planetary exist by itself in interstellar space if it is ejected from a galaxy?

Let me answer #2 & #3 first. Yes, stars will be sprayed out, and Yes a star with planets can be in intergalactic space with no special harm to the planets. Do an image search for "Tadpole Galaxy" or "Antennae Galaxy" to see nice pictures of streams of stars getting flung out by a merger.