PDA

View Full Version : Terraforming mars talk.....

RULEOFAQUISITION101
2015-Aug-09, 03:22 AM
I hear a lot of smart people talking about terraforming mars.... but mars does not have a magnetic field like we do on earth probably because of a cold core. It does have magnetic spots though. Because of this any atmosphere developed there will literally be blown away by the solar winds if I'm not mistaken. Slowly but surely. That's why the atmosphere is so thin to begin with. So I think in theory terraforming mars is kinda pointless....or will be a never ending thing...you won't be able to stop the process of Terra forming because the atmosphere will be continually blowing away as your building it up. Not to mention the lack of protection from radiation.... how can you we even expect plant life as we know it to thrive there with that kind of radiation? I'm not a scientist but I think these are good questions

Sent from my Z970 using Tapatalk

John Mendenhall
2015-Aug-09, 11:56 AM
Agreed. And the gravity may not be enough to keep earthlings healthy.

Be nice if we could go find out . . .

Spacedude
2015-Aug-09, 01:19 PM
Terraforming Mars does appear that it would be a losing battle against the solar wind, weak gravity, and the lack of a strong magnetic field....but hey, we seem to making excellent progress at Venusforming the Earth. So in principle altering the chemistry of a planet's atmosphere can be accomplished under the right conditions, even when we're not really trying.

NEOWatcher
2015-Aug-09, 01:35 PM
If I did my math right, you would have to vaporize the surface of Mars to a depth of several miles to provide enough atmosphere. That seems like a nearly impossible task.

RULEOFAQUISITION101
2015-Aug-09, 01:42 PM