PDA

View Full Version : Do you read science books?

tmosher
2005-Feb-09, 12:31 AM
Ok, science lovers....how many of you read a science related book on a regular basis?

I just finished The Neptune File by Tom Standage

Edited to fix a spelling error - pretty bad when you consider the fact that I'm a technical writer.

rleyland
2005-Feb-09, 01:29 AM
Ok, science lovers....how many of you really a science related book on a regular basis?

I just finished The Neptune File by Tom Standage

Where do I start:

Gould
Diamond
Mayr
Ljomberg
Ravitz

on the astronomy side:

Greene, Plait ( :-) ), Sagan

on the outer side: (you have to keep up)

Arp, van Flandern
(I read von Daniken and Velikovsky as a teenager)

cheers,
Robbo

Gullible Jones
2005-Feb-09, 01:36 AM
Okay, so I lied, they're not all that I read... But I read every one that I can get my hands on, pretty much. :D

Lurker
2005-Feb-09, 01:40 AM
Man!! I'm here with a lot of nerds!! #-o :P

I work my way through a few every year, but I have computer science as well and then there are plays, novels, biographies, poetry... too many books on too many subjects and never enough time... :-k

farmerjumperdon
2005-Feb-09, 01:54 AM
Particle physics, cosmology, history, political science, and a bit of what I call social commentary (Joan Didion, Peter O'Rourke, etc.). Recent reads are The Last Three Minutes, The God Particle, On the Road, Fast Food Nation, Power & Terror. Kind of eclectic, but not really. I read 20 to 30 books per year, and only 1 or 2 will be fiction.

Brady Yoon
2005-Feb-09, 03:49 AM
If there was a choice of one every few days, I'd pick that one. :)

I think the librarian thinks I'm weird because I'm a kid checking out all those books.

Kristophe
2005-Feb-09, 03:53 AM