PDA

View Full Version : need new antivirus program

space cadet
2005-Feb-16, 07:45 PM
hey guys... I need an antivirus program... as a student I get mcaffee for free but for some reason it can't update. I don't think it likes my computer. Can anyone reccomend a new program for me? And please don't say "linux" or "get a mac."

I have norton installed on my gramma's computer but I find it to be incredibly bloated.

:P

SKY
2005-Feb-16, 07:58 PM
I've got McAfee Internet Security Suite version 6.0 which I've not had a problem with yet. It contains Anti-Virus, Firewall, Privacy Protector and Spam Killer. It was fairly easy to set up and is currently easy to maintain. I know others here will disagree, but I'm pretty happy with it so far. Now I have had problems with an earlier version (I think it was 5.0 or 4.0) where I was completely unhappy with it, and it really made me debate on buying the 6.0 version. The earlier version I couldn't connect to the internet with the firewall on at all, the product wouldn't update, etc. But so far, they seemed to have fixed alot of the problems with 6.0.

Nicolas
2005-Feb-16, 08:00 PM
I still like "AntiVir": free and low on resources, and on XP the updates don't require a full reinstall these days. It has good realtime scanning, but the free license only allows you to scan a complete drive at once if you do a check, so not just a few maps. It has reasonable detection, not the best in the world but it gets a lot out of your PC.

teddyv
2005-Feb-16, 08:00 PM