PDA

View Full Version : Wikipedia

Noclevername
2017-Feb-08, 10:42 PM
I often link to Wikipedia articles to explain concepts or show answers to questions.

This has led some to the mistaken belief that the WP articles are the source of my understanding. This is not usually the case.

I use WP to explain the basics to posters who show or profess a misunderstanding or lack of knowledge of the basics, or to fact-check simple items where the WP article seems accurate. This doesn't mean that I get my knowledge of subjects solely from Wikipedia. In most cases it's knowledge I either already had from other sources and studies, or have done some research on.

I'm not an expert by any means in any field of science. I make mistakes and sometimes give outdated or inaccurate answers. But the answers I give are usually my own. If I just get something from Wikipedia or any online source I will be sure to note that in my post.

Hornblower
2017-Feb-08, 10:50 PM
I frequently consult Wikipedia on topics I have read about in the past but have trouble finding the sources years later. I usually can get a pretty good feel about whether or not the Wiki article is a reliable one suitable for a novice.

PetersCreek
2017-Feb-08, 11:12 PM
The References section can be especially useful...or not...in getting more information about the topic.

Noclevername
2017-Feb-08, 11:57 PM
I use it mainly because it's convenient. It's usually the first Google that comes up, so it's easy to find and (usually) easy enough to understand when explaining or refreshing most basic science concepts. At least I find it suitable for that purpose.

grant hutchison
2017-Feb-09, 01:19 AM