PDA

View Full Version : How afraid are you of the Avian/'bird flu'?

banquo's_bumble_puppy
2005-Feb-25, 04:31 PM
How afraid are you of the Avian/'bird flu'? The news stories are getting scarier by the minute. Media hype/or a valid concern?

Nethius
2005-Feb-25, 04:37 PM
not at all, actually i havent even heard of it... then again, i dont watch news. I was about to say, maybe it wasn't around my area, but then I see you live in the same city!

I'm mostly worried about dying of cancer then anything else.

banquo's_bumble_puppy
2005-Feb-25, 04:39 PM
you live in Halifax??? cool lovely day eh?

CTM VT 2K
2005-Feb-25, 04:51 PM
I'm concerned enough to keep tabs on it, but not worried enough to put on my Bio/Chemical warfare suit. As a prudent analyst, I'm watching it, and reading up on what the professionals (Beskeptical, the CDC, et al) are saying/doing about it.

When it comes to things like this, I look at it like the Y2k prep: I'm a Computer Engineer, and was in college in the run-up to Y2k. All sorts of people were worried and fear-mongering (including the Media and certain members of my extended family). I looked around my industry, and saw no real worry or concern. Yes, we expected some problems. No, it wasn't going to be the end of the world - not even close. It wasn't.

I look at the CDC and medical community. If they're worried, it's time to be worried. Otherwise, it's overblown.

frogesque
2005-Feb-25, 04:54 PM
For myself not concerned at all but it could be a problem for me dear old mum who's in her eighties. Avian flu is at the moment only a threat, it's far from a pandemic and IIRC there have been 45 deaths (I won't say only 'cos that's a bit insulting) worldwide so far and the situation is being closely monitored.

ToSeek
2005-Feb-25, 07:41 PM
We're overdue for a 1918-scale flu outbreak. You've got to think we can't hold it off forever.

CTM VT 2K
2005-Feb-25, 07:53 PM