PDA

View Full Version : How much do you value material goods?

banquo's_bumble_puppy
2005-Mar-09, 12:44 PM
How materialistic are you?

Argos
2005-Mar-09, 01:10 PM
Being an atheist, matter is all thats left to me... But Im not greedy.

Captain Kidd
2005-Mar-09, 01:23 PM
It was a toss up between "Somewhat. Who doesn't like nice things?" and "Not much at all. Health, family and friends are what matters." I ended up going with the somewhat line.

Being an engineer, I tend to like gadgets and the more options the better. Hence a Canon Digital Rebel with extra lens and some other goodies on the way. The D10 and up were beyond what I was willing to pay for a camera. However, my cell phone is the most basic it can be, I hate ringtones, don't seen the need for a camera on it, and it was cheaper.

I also wont get anything unless I can get it without debt. I'd love to have a car with all sorts of goodies, i.e. GPS, Sirus, etc. (the engineer in me again, and local radio is bad) But, since I'm not going to get a loan to buy it, I won't get one. (Until I save up the cash; even then probably not.)

I buy $10 sunglasses as my break/loss rate is pretty high and I don't see how a $200 pair can be considered an "investment" like some claim.

Our house is pretty minimalist inside. Again because mainly Im not going into debt for furniture and were not the extravagant types. My wife being a graphic designer and the artsy type can make cheap stuff look expensive anyways. However, I was really picky on the house itself.

cyswxman
2005-Mar-09, 01:36 PM
I went with the "not much at all" catagory, as I don't really keep up with the latest and newest. I don't even own a pager, cell phone, dvd player. I still use a camera that requires "film". 8-[

Swift
2005-Mar-09, 01:50 PM
It was a toss up between "Somewhat. Who doesn't like nice things?" and "Not much at all. Health, family and friends are what matters." I ended up going with the somewhat line.