PDA

View Full Version : Potassium Chromate In Veternary Use As An Antifungal Question.

BigDon
2018-Aug-17, 06:44 AM
I've been wanting to ask this one for a while now.

When I was a professional aquarist one issue I saw about three or four times a year, usually in pond goldfish after cold weather, was a rather unpleasant fungal infection that produced a thick mat of blue-grey mold on the poor fish. Thick and nasty, you couldn't pull this stuff off with forceps without tearing the fish apart.

I had even developed an eye for survivability based on the medications available for me to use.

For years I was ignorant the grades of antibiotics within a class of antibiotics, like tetracycline for instance.

You have human grade tetracycline, veterinarian grade tetracycline and then the stuff the janitor sweeps off the floor while *thinking* about antibiotics, AKA aquarium grade tetracycline.

So with nothing but aquarium grade antibiotics at my disposal I really had to triage the charges under my care, though I didn't call it that at the time. After decades I just knew.

And then one day Jungle, a fish product company, introduced a potassium chromate antifungal.

The first time I used it on a suitably sick fish, one I thought was a goner, I wasn't just stunned, I was flabbergasted! As I *watched* the layer of mold simply peeled off the fish. And after the damaged tissue recovered the fish went home a week later.

Can anyone explain why the hyphae dissolved so suddenly?

BigDon
2018-Aug-17, 07:09 AM
My mistake.

Potassium dichromate, if it makes a difference.

Swift
2018-Aug-17, 12:42 PM
I don't have the answer BD. I'm not surprised the antibiotics didn't do anything for a fungus infection.

But apparently, there is a patent (https://patents.google.com/patent/US4331660A/en) on using the chromates for fungus on fish eggs.

Be careful with the chromates, the hexachromates are carcinogens (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1568823/).

Squink
2018-Aug-19, 10:55 PM