PDA

View Full Version : Questions from a Liberal Arts major.

Yossarian
2005-Jul-03, 08:23 PM
Hello all,

I enjoy and appreciate science, but my background is in the liberal arts. Recently I've been trying to brush up on my sciences and the scientific method to counter some proposals and arguments put forth by people who believe in faith over science. Anyway, I have two questions out of pure curiosity;

1.) Is it true that the during ancient times (B.C.E.), the constellations and stars were not in their current postion in the sky? (i.e. Polaris was not the North Star) If true, why?

2.) I am assuming in times past (before the industrial age) that the night sky was brilliant due to the lack of light pollution. In ancient times, did they have any explanations for what the haze we know as the Milky Way was in the sky.

3.) Are there any "random" stars in between the galaxies, or is it just "space"

Also, can any one point me to a message board similar to this that deals with evolution. I am not interested in discussion of evolution v. intelligent design. I just have some questions about sexual selection and the development of intelligence. Thanks in advance for everyone's help.

Crimson
2005-Jul-03, 08:36 PM
1.) Is it true that the during ancient times (B.C.E.), the constellations and stars were not in their current postion in the sky? (i.e. Polaris was not the North Star) If true, why?

Yes. The Earth wobbles--the fancy name for this is precession--which causes the axis to point in different directions. As a result, only in recent centuries has Polaris been a good North Star. It will be at its best in 2102. See "Polaris and the North Pole" by Jean Meeus, Journal of the British Astronomical Association, 100, 5. (http://articles.adsabs.harvard.edu/cgi-bin/nph-iarticle_query?1990JBAA..100..212M)