PDA

View Full Version : Book on Fortran

Normandy6644
2005-Aug-02, 09:47 PM
Does anyone know a good book to start learning Fortan 77 and then 90/95? I'm going to be doing some research in the fall and most of the code is in Fortran, as I'm told. I have little experience with it, so any help would be appreciated. Also, since Fortran 90/95 have replaced 77 essentially, it is necessary to learn 77 first or will I be able to understand it even if I only read a book about 90 or 95?

Taks
2005-Aug-02, 09:49 PM
though i did not do any specific research, i'd suggest Fatbrain.com. that's where i buy all my books, even for school work.

taks

peter eldergill
2005-Aug-03, 04:29 AM
Wow

Didn't know that language even existed anymore...my Mom used to program in Fortran...she's long retired.

Do companies still use it (obvious answer yes, else you wouldn't be asking said question 8) )

L8R

Pete

Taks
2005-Aug-03, 04:34 AM
my guess would be the guy is researching an old code base that was originally done in fortran. some archaic languages are still around, but nearly all new standard developments are in C or C++. embedded developers will often pull out assembly language constructs for direct manipulation of various registers, IO, etc. but those don't really count as a structured language, just the base code each machine runs on. i think ADA is big, as is LISP in various crowds. i actually studied FORTH once, as well as FORTRAN (no longer taught in many schools).

taks

Enzp
2005-Aug-03, 04:40 AM
Wow, I learned Fortran 40 years ago. I too am surprised it is still around. of course I still have my slide rules.

Taks
2005-Aug-03, 04:46 AM
fortran is still a good scientific programming method. simpler than C as i recall (been almost 20 years for me). there were quirks with memory management i think...

taks

Van Rijn
2005-Aug-03, 05:32 AM