PDA

View Full Version : Astronomy/Stargazing Music

Lorcan Faol
2005-Aug-15, 09:04 AM
Ahoy! It's been a long time since I have posted here last. I've had a busy summer. I haven't done any observing with my telescope in a long time either, unfortunately. I have some friends who really want to come out to my place and have me show them some cool stuff 'up there'. But it hasn't happened yet.

But anyway, tonight I was thinking about some good astronomy and stargazing music. I've never done this before, but I thought it'd be a relaxing and pretty cool experience to have some good music playing in the background while looking through the telescope, or just while laying out and stargazing. Something that sort of enhances the experience, you know? It's also great to just sit out there in silence, but I was thinking this may add an extra dimension to the experience. Especially if you are alone and don't have anyone to talk to. I love music (obsessed, you might say) so I listen to it almost everywhere I can. I am surprised I never thought of mixing it with astronomy until now.

In the hour or so that I've been thinking about this, I've thought that the following albums/artists would be great to listen to in this kind of environment and situation.

*Ulver - Perdition City, Kveldssanger
*Mozart (probably my favorite classical composer... but I think just about any classical music would be great in this situation)
*Those nifty NASA space probe recordings of the interactions of the solar winds with solar system objects
*Godspeed You Black Emperor (any album)
*A Silver Mount Zion (any album)

This is all that I have come up with so far that I'd consider to be extremely awesome for stargazing music.

Surely there is endless amounts of this out there...

Champion_Munch
2005-Aug-15, 09:20 AM
Lately when I've been stargazing by myself, I listen to Velvet revolver or Red hot chili peppers. :)

with regards

MG1962A
2005-Aug-15, 01:45 PM