PDA

View Full Version : Space Warfare & Nuclear Weapons

Silas
2002-Sep-03, 03:34 AM
Confession: I am a science fiction writer...

Suppose you had a "near future" space fleet, perhaps just a tad more advanced than the spacecraft in "2010" (the movie.) Suppose that you want to make war upon one another.

(Depressing enough?)

Today's ICBMs are tipped with H-bombs. They would do serious (understatement) damage to a city. But what would happen if one were to detonate in space, near a hardened target?

My thinking is: if there were actual contact, or very close detonation, the fireball would chew into the target. But at even a slight distance, the blast would expand away and do little harm.

So...if one were designing warheads for combat in vacuum...could one re-design the standard H-bomb warhead for a slower-burning, larger-expanding fireball to attack enemy hulls?

In my fevered imagination, I'm thinking of dispersed plates of plutonium, such that the central explosion would cause them to fission, thus providing a larger likelihood that a fission fireball would contact the enemy's hull.

This would be rather the opposite of the oridinal Plutonium bomb ("Little Boy" at Hiroshima) where the effort was to concentrate the fissionable material in the smallest possible space. This works because the explosion occurred under earth's atmosphere, which propogated the shock-wave. In a vacuum, the weapons designer wouldn't have that "free ride."

Obviously, I'm presuming that the target is protected against EMP, and probably has some sort of ablative hull armor....

Anybody up for some sci-fi wargames?

Silas

(P.S.: this is currently getting kicked around on snopes.com, in the "science" area, under a discussion of "Tesla" weapons...)

kucharek
2002-Sep-03, 08:38 AM
On 2002-09-02 23:34, Silas wrote: