PDA

View Full Version : Discussion: Lunar Eclipse Tonight



Fraser
2003-Jul-08, 10:08 PM
SUMMARY: The Americas and part of Europe will be treated to a total eclipse of the moon on Thursday night – the first one visible here in three years. A lunar eclipse occurs when the Earth’s shadow falls on the Moon, turning it a deep red colour. Unlike solar eclipses, lunar eclipses are completely safe to watch with the naked eye; and it looks even better with a pair of binoculars or small telescope. The eclipse begins at 0203 GMT Friday (10:03pm EDT Thursday), and reaches the maximum at 0340 GMT (11:40pm EDT). The eclipse will be best viewed from the Eastern Coast of the United States.


What do you think about this story? Post your comments below.