PDA

View Full Version : Discussion: Columbia Report Will Be Released ...



Fraser
2003-Aug-22, 04:36 PM
SUMMARY: The Columbia Accident Investigation Board will hold a press briefing on August 26 and discuss its final 250-page report on the cause of the space shuttle Columbia's destruction on February 1, 2003. The report will be made available from the CAIB's website at 1400 GMT (10:00 am EDT) and a live webcast will begin at 1500 GMT (11:00 am EDT). The 13-member board has already concluded that foam dislodged from the shuttle's fuel tank struck the left wing on takeoff and create a crack that allowed hot gas to enter the wing on re-entry.


Comments or questions about this story? Feel free to share your thoughts.

DippyHippy
2003-Aug-25, 04:48 AM
I think it will be interesting to see who they decide to blame (if anyone)... will there be a shake-up at NASA as a result?

Dips