PDA

View Full Version : Discussion: Columbia Accident Report Released

Fraser
2003-Aug-26, 07:25 PM
SUMMARY: The Columbia Accident Investigation Board released its final report today, which was officially accepted by NASA Administrator Sean O'Keefe. The 250-page document contains an overview of the shuttle program in general, as well as STS-107. The report discusses the suspected cause of the Columbia accident - that foam falling from the fuel tank on liftoff smashed a hole in the shuttle's left wing and allowed hot gas to enter during re-entry - but it also places a lot of emphasis on the weaknesses of NASA's culture.

Comments or questions about this story? Feel free to share your thoughts.

WendellG
2003-Aug-26, 10:19 PM
Ok, I am not structural mechanic or an enginere of any type. I'm just a Licensed Nurse and a State Bioterrorism Investigator. I guess that I find it hard to belive that a piece of foam that size could puncture the wing of the Space Shuttle.

My heart still goes out to the families and friends of those on board that day, so please don't think that I am trying to make the loss of life second to the cause of the effect. I just really think that NASA took the easy way out and focused on the obvious.

Wendell

Fraser
2003-Aug-26, 10:38 PM
Read the report. :-) I'm just digesting it now. It's actually really well written and doesn't really require any technical knowledge. I can see that the writers worked hard to make it accessible to the general public.

WendellG
2003-Aug-26, 11:01 PM
Hey Frasier: You are right. It is well written. But it will still take me a while to gleen all of the info from it.

Thanks,

Wendell

drfloydhaywood
2003-Aug-27, 05:46 AM
To be honest, I have not yet read the Columbia report. It may be well written, and fairly factual, but the important thing is will there be any improvements in the way NASA does business.