PDA

View Full Version : Memory Disorder???

supermarket
2003-Sep-24, 10:28 AM

This may seem entirely trivial and irrelevant but, given that Fraser allows us to talk about anything, here goes:

How can anyone forget to take their child to school? How?

I got to work this morning to an extremely irate phonecall from the ex-missus asking where I was. I could not believe that I had forgotten to take my illustrious offspring to its place of intellectual enhancement. Unfortunately this has happened before. Apart from a brain-transplant or cutting my head off, I'm not sure what I can do about this. One of my parents suffers from a memory disorder. Am I going the same way?

Serious ideas/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Supermarket.

WendellG
2003-Sep-24, 08:49 PM
Ok, in all seriousness. As a licensed nurse I know that there are blood tests that can be done which look for the presence of certain protiens at certain levels. The presence and levels of these protiens can indicate which type or types of dimentias that a person is going through. Now, I have talked to many Dr's. on this subject and there is no concensus as to wheather-or-not any or all dimentias are genetic in origin. So, there you go.

The good news is that about 99% of all people who seek a Dr. about a possible dimentia are given a clean bill of health. For most of us, memory improvement gets better with some easy lifestyle changes ie... get more sleep, eat balanced meals, reduce the stressors in you life where you can, and proper exercise.

Anyway, if you are concerned, by all means, seek out a Dr. and follow his or her advice.

Semper Fi,

Wendell

P.S. Remember these two rules:

1. Don't worry about the small stuff.
2. It is all small stuff.

DippyHippy
2003-Sep-26, 04:58 AM
LOL Wendell re your two simple rules