PDA

View Full Version : Life from nothing?...

kashi
2003-Oct-16, 12:22 PM
Could our ultimate evolutionary source lie with complex organic molecules capable of replicating themselves.

Amazing article:
http://www.cogsci.indiana.edu/farg/harry/b...t/lifestart.htm (http://www.cogsci.indiana.edu/farg/harry/bio/lifestart/lifestart.htm)
Includes a nifty simulation of the begginings of cell reproduction on Earth.

I'd love to hear peoples' thoughts. This has interesting implications for the ability of life to arise on other planets.

Kashi

Haglund
2003-Oct-16, 02:52 PM
I have suspected (I'm not an expert in biology) that there must have been something we would call evolution before there was what we now call living organisms. It makes great sense that it all is the result simply of the laws of nature and the properties of matter.

kashi
2003-Oct-17, 09:15 AM
Indeed. It's obvious that evolution can, does, and has occured. But what's a bit less known, is whether "life" can come out of nothing (i.e. just chemical compounds) when molecules randomly collide.

Matthew
2003-Oct-17, 09:33 AM
Thats probably what occured, or a huge bolt of lightning struck the ocean and created life.

Haglund
2003-Oct-17, 09:55 AM
Large inputs of energy was probably required, if the temperature is too low the possibilities are less.

Matthew
2003-Oct-17, 10:05 AM
Well the higher the temperature, the greater energy atoms/molecules have to move around increasing their chance of hitting one another increasing the chance of a reaction.

kashi
2003-Oct-18, 05:07 AM
That's a very a good point. I guess that means all the other variables that affect rate of reaction would also have an impact on the length of time it took life to establish. Small volumes of water containing larger amounts of minerals, moving currents in the water etc.

Maybe the amount of available energy (kinetic, electrical etc.) on a planet could be a valid variable to include in the drake equation. What do you think?

Matthew