PDA

View Full Version : Full Moon Stargazing?

turbo86se
2003-Dec-13, 04:39 AM
Hello, this is my first post and I'm new to Astronomy. I recently purchased an Orion SpaceProbe 130mm reflector and I love it. If I understand this correctly, Saturn is out there for excellent viewing, and so is Jupiter. Will the full/half moon affect their visibility? I did get a SkyGlow Broadband filter as well as a Barlow eyepiece. What eyepiece should I use to locate these planets? My scope came with a 10mm and 25mm.
Thanks!!
~joel

Littlemews
2003-Dec-14, 01:29 AM
;) it depends on the right time to observer the planet

Hope this information might help u :lol:

Sky Calendar -- December 2003
1 Moon near Mars at 19h UT (evening sky). Mars at mag. *0.4.
7 Moon near the Pleiades at 12h UT (evening sky).
7 Moon at apogee (furthest from Earth) at 12h UT (distance 406,279 km; angular size 29.4').
8 Full Moon at 20:37 UT. The full Moon of December is called the "Moon Before Yule" in old almanacs.
9 Mercury at greatest elongation, 21 east from the Sun (evening sky) at 6h UT. Mercury (mag. *0.4) visible at dusk in the southwest about 8 below and to the right (left for southern hemisphere observers) of much brighter Venus (mag. *3.9).
10 Moon near Saturn at 22h UT (morning sky).
13 Moon near the Beehive cluster (M44) at 2h UT (morning sky). Binoculars provide excellent view.
14 Geminid Meteor Shower peaks at 11h UT. Produces bright, medium-speed meteors at its peak on the night of December 13*14 (up to 80 meteors/hour). The parent body of the Geminids is a mysterious asteroid known as 3200 Phaethon believed to be an "extinct comet." Unfortunately, bright moonlight will interfere with observations of the Geminids this year. The shower radiant is indicated on the sky map.
16 Moon near Jupiter at 7h UT (morning sky).
16 Last Quarter Moon at 17:42 UT.