PDA

View Full Version : Career Options in Astronomy/Physics

samoth
2004-Feb-06, 02:45 AM
I am curious what kind of careers/jobs exist for someone who graduates with a degree in physics/astronomy.

Specifically: I have applied for transfer into another universities' astrophysics program from my current school where I am majoring in biochemistry (my present university offers very little in astronomy/astrophysics). My question is, what fields exist out there in the non-college (ie. real) world that might be available for someone who graduates in this area?

Further, does a significant difference in occupational options exist between possessing a bachelor's versus a master's degree... or either degree versus a PhD?

Just curious... I am not looking for any in-depth answers necessarily... just a broad idea -- especially from any persons who are in this field of work themselves!

Tiny
2004-Feb-06, 04:49 AM
I know some college they are hiring ppls that actually interseting in Astronomy/physic, I mean they can work with other prof. even they are graduate... >< but the incoming...only &#036;7.50 per hour

1. Try to join a club (Astronomy club)
2. Maybe those ppls in that club can find you a job

samoth
2004-Feb-06, 09:04 PM
Thanks, but I&#39;m not looking for a job per se... just wondering what&#39;s out there&#33;
Currently, there are no clubs of this sort at my school... hence my transferring. Heck, I&#39;d be ecstatic if there was an astronomy club here.

jce1975
2004-Feb-06, 09:06 PM
I am not sure about things you can do while in school. Perhaps you could help out at a local observatory? The one thing I read though was that you have to have a PhD in order to become a professional astronomer.

jce1975
2004-Feb-06, 09:16 PM
Check out this site ...

http://www.aas.org/education/career.html

James

jce1975
2004-Feb-06, 09:21 PM
This site too ...

http://www.phys-astro.sonoma.edu/people/fa.../tenn/Jobs.html (http://www.phys-astro.sonoma.edu/people/faculty/tenn/Jobs.html)