PDA

View Full Version : Comet Shoemaker Levy 9

damienpaul
2004-Feb-21, 06:38 AM
Hi again folks

I remember back in 1994, i did an assignment on the Comet Shoemaker Levy 9 impact on Jupiter (this was in the old days when I was a high school student).

I was wondering have there been any follow up studies on the effects on Jupiter's cloud systems?

galaxygirl
2004-Feb-21, 06:01 PM
The Galileo probe did some studies on Jupiters clouds a few years ago. A short summary can be found here:

Jupiter's Clouds (http://spaceprojects.arc.nasa.gov/Space_Projects/galileo_probe/htmls/Clouds_results.html)

Duane
2004-Feb-21, 07:04 PM
Just a quick comment--the clouds of Jupitor are similar to clouds on Earth--that is they are dynamic and constantly changing. Although the inital impact sites were spectacular, the material of the comet and the material dredged up by the impact would have assimilated back into the clouds within a short time.

VanderL
2004-Feb-21, 08:48 PM
the clouds of Jupitor are similar to clouds on Earth--that is they are dynamic and constantly changing
I think not. The clouds are indeed changing but some features last for ages (Red Spot?). So whatever drives the Jovian atmosphere, it will not be the same as on Earth. I think Damien's question is important, because some of the immediate effects seen after the impacts were spectacularly unexpected. Maybe the follow-up could show us how Jupiter's weather system works and what exactly happened when the pieces of the comet struck.
Cheers.

Duane
2004-Feb-21, 09:54 PM
I think not. The clouds are indeed changing but some features last for ages (Red Spot?). So whatever drives the Jovian atmosphere, it will not be the same as on Earth.

The Great Red Spot is a hurricane gone crazy. Because the atmosphere on Jupitor is so deep, it does not dissipate as quickly as hurricanes on Earth. The process that forms it, however, is the same process as forms hurricanes on Earth.