PDA

View Full Version : What if the Mössbauer shows the spheres are Hemati

errorist
2004-Mar-03, 11:18 PM
They plan on placing the Mössbauer on a pile of spheres.What if the Mössbauer shows the spheres are Hematite? Would this mean the spheres were once living organisms, and through diagenisis they have become hematite?

Manchurian Taikonaut
2004-Mar-04, 05:42 AM
I imagine so, but I am by no means an expert.

Any biologists or people with chemical background here? :blink:

damienpaul
2004-Mar-05, 01:20 PM
When I was doing exploration geology for a mining company we found haematite in areas that were an estuarine environment - so I guess it is possible.

errorist
2004-Mar-06, 02:13 AM
Posible but not probable. But who knows we are talking about Mars not Earth.

damienpaul
2004-Mar-06, 02:20 AM
I never stated that is was probable, i did mentioned possible

errorist
2004-Mar-07, 01:10 AM
I understand. I agree with you.

abyssalroamer
2004-Mar-08, 01:41 PM
I may have missed something in the stories about the spherules, but if they are hematite, it seems that means nothing more than just that. Sometimes, iron concretions can form around some kind of organic material,like a fish scale, as I have seen in some work in California, but not always. Silicate minerals have been leached away, leaving almost pure hematite. If they are concretions. Oolitic hematite doesn't necessarily, if ever, mean that the sphere itself is biogenic. What I don't know is if a particular isotope of Fe is indicative of, say, a bacterial origin, as in the iron deposits of North America. At any rate, unless I missed something, a key to the spherules might be what is, or isn't, at their centers or in their internal structure. This also assumes processes such as we see on earth. It would be intriguing to see the hematite as a form of shell around an organism once having lived in a briny, iron-rich sea, with the iron serving the same purpose as calcium carbonate or silica.

errorist