PDA

View Full Version : Bad Astronomy in The Secret of Life by Paul McAuley

Jetmech0417
2002-Nov-08, 12:05 AM
I'm not gonna ruin the book by telling everyone what happens, but on pg 186 (in my copy), he mentions the use of an airship on Mars. It reads as follows:
Because there is no need for streamlining in Mars's think atmosphere, the airship's body consists of six fifty-meter-long tubes quilted with cells of hydrogen and bundled around a central spine like an air mattress rolled up lengthwise, with the pressure cabin and the cargo pods hung beneath. I-beam struts extend either side of the center of gravity, each bearing four turboprop motors.
emphasis mine

As most of you probably know by now, I'm a jet engine mechanic. I work on turboprop motors for a living, and Mars's atmosphere is waaay too thin to support the air usage of a turboprop motor.

Mars has a very thin atmosphere composed mostly of the tiny amount of remaining carbon dioxide (95.3%) plus nitrogen (2.7%), argon (1.6%) and traces of oxygen (0.15%) and water (0.03%). The average pressure on the surface of Mars is only about 7 millibars (less than 1% of Earth's), but it varies greatly with altitude from almost 9 millibars in the deepest basins to about 1 millibar at the top of Olympus Mons. (from http://www.seds.org/nineplanets/nineplanets/mars.html)

With such a thin atmosphere and a very small amount of usable oxygen, a turboprop motor would never start, and if it did, would constantly stall for lack of air. Simply put, the engine would starve to death.

Just thought I'd bring attention to this little oversight. (It's really a pretty good book.) *shrug* What can ya expect, I guess. Bad Astronomy found everywhere.

[Edited to fix punctuation]

"Some see the glass half full, some see it half empty, and some see it crawling with toxic alien parasites who want to devour your pancreas." - Sgt Aarhus, from the book Ascending by James Alan Gardner