PDA

View Full Version : Discussion: 200,000 Quasars Confirm ...

Fraser
2005-Apr-26, 05:50 PM
SUMMARY: An international team of astronomers have performed a robust survey of quasars to confirm a prediction from Albert Einstein about how gravity should magnify the light traveling from distant objects. The study showed how the light from 200,000 quasars is being tugged by the gravity of 13 million galaxies as it travels from the quasars to the Earth. The researchers used the Sloan Digital Sky Survey to uncover thousands of new quasars which could then fine-tune their observations.

View full article (http://www.universetoday.com/am/publish/200000_quasars.html)

What do you think about this story? Post your comments below.

John L
2005-Apr-26, 06:25 PM
This is an impressive result, and similar to what I do for a living. I'm an auditor (chartered accountant for those not in the US) and I sift through massive files of company data for specific transactions of interest, then determine their relationships (and hunt for fraud). It sounds like astronomers are finally taking the massive pools of electronic data and learning to sift them for the underlying issues like EGR and standard model tests.

Maybe I should become an astronomical auditor???

antoniseb
2005-Apr-26, 07:45 PM
Originally posted by John L@Apr 26 2005, 06:25 PM
That sounds like an idea with some merit. We might also need some astronomical actuaries.

Hyginus
2005-Apr-26, 10:53 PM
Dear Fraser,