PDA

View Full Version : Discussion: Astrophoto: Pluto by Charles Bell

Fraser
2005-Jul-08, 05:14 PM
SUMMARY: Charles Bell demonstrates that amateur astronomers can photograph Pluto with their backyard telescopes. Charles used a 12" Meade 200LX-GPS with a 120 second exposure.

Do you have photos you'd like to share? Post them to the Universe Today astrophotography forum or email them to me directly, and I might feature one in Universe Today.

What do you think about this story? Post your comments below.

damienpaul
2005-Jul-08, 05:52 PM
Hey, nice work Charles!!!

Greg
2005-Jul-09, 04:26 AM
I had no idea pluto would be visible to an amateur scope. It must not have been easy to spot it.

CharlesBell
2005-Jul-09, 04:07 PM
Thanks for the comments and interest.

Imaging Pluto has been a goal I have been purusing for many months. Pluto is low in the sky from my setup location and trees are always a problem when I want to go after a particular target. Just getting it into the field of view of the scope and then centering it is complicated. There are always lots of other uncontrollables like clouds and haze. The humidityy is very high in the early morning. I resorted to a hair dryer to keep the front end corrector plate free of dew so I would not have to fight dew heater cables in the dark.

To get a precise slew to a dim target, I center a brighter star dead in the center of the camera field. Then I do an object synch with the scope's autostar hand controller. In this case I used the star Sabik, or Eta Orphiucus. Then I slew to Pluto and do 30 second unguided shots in focusing mode with the CCD camera.
I compare the pattern of stars in the focusiing images to what I have showing in the field of view indicator of TheSky6.

I use the Rotate tool in TheSky6 to turn the display upside down and select "mirror view" so The Sky screen is oriented just like the camera (North down, and east to the left).