PDA

View Full Version : Discussion: Ingredients of Life 10 Billion ...

Fraser
2005-Jul-29, 03:32 PM
SUMMARY: Using the Spitzer Space Telescope, astronomers have discovered organic molecules in galaxies more than 10 billion years light-years away. This means these organic molecules - considered the building blocks of life - were present when the Universe was only a few billion years old. Spitzer found the molecules in starburst galaxies which are going through intense star formation. This means that life has had a long opportunity to gain a foothold in the Universe.

View full article (http://www.universetoday.com/am/publish/spitzer_finds_polycyclic_aromatic_hydrocarbons.htm l)

What do you think about this story? Post your comments below.

cran
2005-Aug-01, 12:24 AM
Be gentle with me; it's my first time...

I must admit to wearing the same, slightly smug, grin when I first read about organics 10 billion light years away, as I wore when old, evolved galaxies were found much further away than previously thought possible.

The finding must surely add weight to the argument that life is probably more widespread and common than our local knowledge suggests.

This, in turn, impacts upon my own study and research into planetary evolution.

I will be following future developments with interest.

I'm sure the implications will be debated for some time to come, but it does appear that :
a) the universe is older than other evidence and theory indicates;
B) the universe evolved much faster than other evidence and theory indicates; or
c) the theory, or some of its founding assumptions, are wrong.

However, rather than pushing this thread immediately into controversial (read "alternative") realms, let me just congratulate the discoverers, and be reminded that we really do live in interesting times!

Laintje
2005-Aug-01, 12:10 PM
Indeed this is a very interesting finding.