PDA

View Full Version : Lunar Eclipse Tonight



Fraser
2005-Sep-10, 08:55 PM
SUMMARY: The Americas and part of Europe will be treated to a total eclipse of the moon on Thursday night – the first one visible here in three years. A lunar eclipse occurs when the Earth’s shadow falls on the Moon, turning it a deep red colour. Unlike solar eclipses, lunar eclipses are completely safe to watch with the naked eye; and it looks even better with a pair of binoculars or small telescope. The eclipse begins at 0203 GMT Friday (10:03pm EDT Thursday), and reaches the maximum at 0340 GMT (11:40pm EDT). The eclipse will be best viewed from the Eastern Coast of the United States.

View full article (http://www.universetoday.com/am/publish/article_312.html)
What do you think about this story? post your comments below.

John M. Dollan
2005-Sep-10, 09:35 PM
And, of course, we're cloudy. EVERY single time.....

...John...