PDA

View Full Version : Casimir Effect question

Nicholas_Bostaph
2005-Sep-30, 04:56 PM
I just had a (hopefully simple) physics question I was hoping someone could answer. I'm a layman, so go easy on me. ;)

As I understand it, the Casimir effect refers to the repulsion or attraction of two objects that are a very small distance away from one another. This occurs because not as many virtual particle pairs can pop into existence, which creates an energy differential between the space between the objects, and the space on the other side of the objects. Much like the way a pressure differential can lift an airplane or apply pressure to a container with low pressure, this energy differential pulls the objects together (or pushes them apart). Is this correct so far?

Assuming it is, doesn't that mean that work is being done on these objects by particle/anti-particle annihilation? If so, then what stops us from using or storing that energy? If nothing, doesn't that violate the conservation of energy principle? It would technically be (crudely) harvesting zero point energy. I'm assuming there is something that prevents this, or something that balances the equation. Can someone set me straight?

Thanks. :)

eburacum45
2005-Sep-30, 06:45 PM
One problem with the Casimir force is that it is very small, and another is that it is effectively negative; you have to expend energy to keep the plates apart.
Actually that does not mean you can't get work out of the system; long ago, atmospheric steam engines were designed to obtain work from the negative pressure of a relative vacuum.

But as I said before it is an incredibly small force, and it takes a lot of energy to make the equipment to detect it. So I would expect that if you totalled up the amount of energy it would take to make a hypothetical Casimir energy generator and the tiny amount of energy you obtained, the input would be larger than the tiny output.

Nicholas_Bostaph
2005-Sep-30, 07:59 PM