PDA

View Full Version : Physics Help

Champion_Munch
2005-Oct-01, 02:41 AM
I'm studying for a physics test this week, and I've come across a question that I can't work out.

A part of this particular exam is about Electrostatics, and the question relates to the field intensity in a uniform electric field:

"A small sphere of mass 0.005kg and charge +3 C is floating between two horizontal parallel plates 30m apart. What must be the potential difference between the plates?"

I've looked through my notes, the text book and some sheets and I can't find an equation that suits this question. Any ideas?

EDIT: Whoops, just noticed I posted this in the wrong section...can someone move it please?

with regards

Grey
2005-Oct-01, 03:20 AM
"A small sphere of mass 0.005kg and charge +3 C is floating between two horizontal parallel plates 30m apart. What must be the potential difference between the plates?"I think that the problem might have been been worded, but let me guess what they mean here. Presumably they mean that this is happening on Earth, and they've given the mass of the sphere, so you can work out the gravitational force pulling it downward. Since they describe it as "floating", they presumably mean that this gravitational force is exactly balanced by an electric force directed upward. So you know what the electric force is on a particle with a known charge, which allows you to determine the electric field in the region between the plates (more assumptions that I would have stated explicitly is that the plates are conductors and each is held at a constant potential, and that the sphere has a small enough charge that it isn't significantly affecting the field). Then, knowing the separation between the plates, you should be able to work out what potential difference would create such a field.

publius
2005-Oct-01, 03:26 AM