PDA

View Full Version : "Self-Taught" Thermodynamics Re 'Rene'

JimO
2003-Jan-25, 04:11 PM
In reviewing the aspects of HB hoaxing that can be verified in High Schools (and at home), I'm looking at the thermodynamics offered by 'self-taught physicist' Ralph Rene, and wanted to ask some basic questions.

In "NASA Mooned America" chapter 11 ("The LEM's Problem"), page 90-91 in my edition, he offers to calculate the equilibrium temperature of the LM on the lunar surface.

Solar heating is 1353 watts per square meter.

He assumes the LM sunlit area is 18 square meters.

"I have chosen an emissivity factor of 0.5 simply because that lies halfway between a perfect mirror and a perfect black body".

Thus he computes "12,168 watts per hour" (he frequently shows confusion over units).

Then he offers to compute the temperature at which the LM would be emitting this much heat (plus some from the crewmen and electronics). Using "the Stefan-Bolzmann formula", he computes a temperature of 120 deg C for the LM, at equilibrium.

"Did I miss something?" he asks. To start with, I'd suggest his absorption number (he states that absorption and emissivity values are the 'same number') of 0.5 is way too high.

What's the true 'equilibrium temperature' of the LM in space? Assume lighting angles as on the Moon.

In chapter 12 ("Blowholes of Sea & Space"), page 101, he gets even more amusing by calculating how the cooling water for the spacesuit sublimator was totally inadequate. He states that heat is rejected from the suit BY COOLING AND FREEZING WATER, so that each gram of water can account for so many calories from dropping to 0 deg C and then 80 calories for freezing (the 'heat of fusion', a term he does not use). He writes, "When that gram freezes it absorbs another 80 calories..."