PDA

View Full Version : Einstein, Nobel Laureates, and me

Andromeda321
2005-Oct-26, 02:25 AM
I figured this is a cool little story even amidst my usual antics so I should share it here before I forget. (If you frequent FWIS, you've heard this already. If not, read on.)
On November 14th my department is hosting an International Year of Physics event (http://www.case.edu/events/physics/) with a bunch of very important people lecturing throughout the day, including a few Nobel Laureates and the former CEO of CNN, on how cool Einstein was. If this wasn't nifty enough they decided that the officers of the undergrad Physics and Astronomy Club should have lunch with the speakers and then introduce them during the event... at this time it's worth noting that as the "Astronomy Liasion" I am an officer. Awesome. :)
So anyway, last week word officially got out for who got to introduce who and things like that. As I was the only one to really state my preference I got Dr. Frank Wilczek, who won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 2004. I've been excited about this ever since, even though I'm still not sure what I'm going to say!
So anyways, I thought that was nifty and news-worthy enough that some BAUTers would be interested in hearing about it (I'll post what happens when the big day arrives). That having said anyone in the general vicinity of Cleveland, Ohio who'd like to come to the event (I'm guessing there's more than one of you!) is more than welcome, just register on the above linked site.
Alright, that's it for now. If anyone has a suggestion for what to say and do while hanging out with Nobel Laureates I'm all ears. ;)

Candy
2005-Oct-26, 05:26 AM
You are the cutest bubble on earth! If I could turn back time, and relive life... I'd seriously want to be you, Andromeda. :cool:

Swift
2005-Oct-26, 02:39 PM