PDA

View Full Version : Light in a black hole

thkaufm
2003-Feb-07, 03:08 AM
"If you throw an object straight up, it will rise until the the negative acceleration of gravity stops it, then returns it to Earth"

If light is shot straight up away from a black hole what happens to it?

Tom

irony
2003-Feb-07, 03:29 AM
Well, since light can't slow down I believe what happens is that the wavelength stretches out, and just gets longer and longer, and weaker and weaker, until there's no possible way to detect it. But I'm not an expert. There's probably somebody here who is, though.

JS Princeton
2003-Feb-07, 04:54 AM
As with many other things in relativity, it depends on where you look. Locally, it will just appear that light goes off as normally. This is because all areas have to be locally flat (in the special relativity limit). Globally, the lightbeam will follow a geodesic. In the case of emitting the lightbeam exactly at the event horizon it will continue to climb out of the potential well forever. It will never leave, but just sit at the horizon assymptotically. Of course, it's impossible to get the angle exactly right, so you're either going to have an eventual escape or a geodesic that heads into the black hole

irony
2003-Feb-07, 05:01 AM
What he said. /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif

DStahl
2003-Feb-08, 08:41 AM
I'm trying to visualize what would happen inside the event horizon. Let's assume it's a really big black hole, with an event horizon bigger than the mean circumference of Neptune's orbit, and that it is quiescent and no matter is falling into it except our doomed experimenter.