PDA

View Full Version : Kek (Keck?)

Chief Engineer Scott
2002-Jan-08, 08:03 AM
I was watching a program last night where the commentator launched into an explanation about how they planned to link the double Kek mirrors to create a super "virtual" mirror, the hope was this would enable detection of small rocky planets.
Unfortunately I missed the full explanation as there was a corrupt section on the tape I had used, can someone explain the mechanics of the link? I am interested in the section dealing with the synchronising of the light from the dual telescopes.

PS HAPPY NEW YEAR !

GrapesOfWrath
2002-Jan-08, 08:26 AM
Funny you should ask. They're discussing this sort of thing, one door down (http://www.badastronomy.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?topic=366&forum=2&7).

David Hall
2002-Jan-08, 12:30 PM
Actually GOW, that thread seems to be focusing more on adaptive optics right now.

I'm no expert, but here's my layman's explanation of what's going on. Others can come along and fill in the details.

What the Keck scopes are trying to do is create an interferometer. This is the same kind of thing that's been used in radio astronomy for years, where several smaller telescopes are combined to do the work of one larger one. The most famous example there is the Very Long Baseline Array (VLBA), which has been seen in many movies from 2010 to Contact. But it's only just now being perfected for optical wavelengths, and that's what they're doing with the Keck scopes.

The idea is simply to merge the images from two or more seperate telescopes to provide the same resolving power you would get from one larger mirror. An interferometer has only a fraction of the light-gathering power of a single mirror, but it makes up for it in it's ability to resolve the same amount of detail as a full mirror of the same diameter as their seperation.

But let's let Keck speak for itself. Here's the Keck Interferometer Page:

http://huey.jpl.nasa.gov/keck/