PDA

View Full Version : Dewey

coberst
2005-Dec-17, 09:56 PM
Dewey

I am a retired engineer with some formal education in philosophy that I gained over a period of time while engaged in my engineering career. I have, over the last thirty years, been actively engaged in reading a great deal of history, biography, philosophy and science. All of this activity I would describe as disinterested learning. To me this means learning only for the sake of knowing and understanding. I find value in knowing and understanding as an end in-itself.

One thing that has struck me along the way is that contemporary philosophizing has become irrelevant to and disinterested in the problems of society. I also think that society has suffered enormously as a result of this failure. This is my opinion and from what I read it is an opinion shared by many.

Perhaps one result of this failure of contemporary philosophizing has had an advantageous result. The result I speak of is a rebirth of interest in the works of John Dewey. I have discovered Dewey only lately and have become only slightly familiar with his work. His work is prodigious and I have gained most of my understanding from secondary sources. “Understanding John Dewey” by James Campbell is my primary source of contact so far.

I would like to recommend the thoughts of John Dewey to all those who are disheartened by the direction of education, politics and the general drift of our society wherein citizens have allowed themselves to become propagandized into recognizing production and consumption as its most important values.

R.A.F.
2005-Dec-17, 10:01 PM
How many of these "philosophy threads" are you going to start coberst??

sarongsong
2005-Dec-18, 12:18 AM
Apparently, it's a bottomless pit that never varies in composition:
thread 1 (http://www.the-brights.net/forums/lofiversion/index.php?t2490.html)
thread 2 (http://www.churchofcriticalthinking.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=331)

Wolverine
2005-Dec-18, 01:41 AM