PDA

View Full Version : Missed opportunity of your life !

brandy
2005-Dec-22, 06:17 PM
I was reading the 'most embarassing moment' thread of a few weeks ago and I thought it brought up some great stories. I was wondering if you would care to share your 'missed opportunity of your life' - just for a laugh.

I'll tell you the first one that comes to my mind:
I was driving across France a few years ago on my own when I spied in my wing-mirror a gorgeous hitch-hiker (she looked Australian, blond, tanned) being let off at a roundabout with her gear. I was going in the other direction and continued but I am still wondering today if I should not have turned back and offered to pick her up. Was that the missed opportunity of my life?

Any comments? Do you have a similar tale to tell ?

If so, let's hear it !

Candy
2005-Dec-22, 06:57 PM
^^^
:think:

(me thinks you should've turned around)

I signed up to be a foreign exchange student. I graduated from high school at the age of 16 turning 17. I wasn't ready for college.

I wanted Europe, but got Colombia, South America. I was so young, that the idea of going to a country known for it's violence toward foreigners scared me.

I'm now wishing I would've gone, so I could have perfected my spanish and cultural experience.

farmerjumperdon
2005-Dec-22, 07:06 PM
I'm not too into regrets, life should be lived looking forward. But being human (hard to believe I know) I do occasionally have those pangs.

I wish I had never started smoking, especially since I was smoke free until the age of 25. 25 years smoke free, and now 25 years trying to quit. The only 2 things I outright preach to kids - Get all the education you can, and don't start smoking.

I wish I had discovered skydiving when I was 20 instead of 40.

Nicolas
2005-Dec-22, 07:13 PM
I always wanted to become a military pilot until my eyes got worse (in Belgium: you get all the fun and none of the shooting people ;)).