PDA

View Full Version : LASKO shutdown today til Thursday

chaiyah
2003-Mar-03, 05:42 PM
"Notice: LASCO doors have been closed for a spacecraft orbit trim since Monday at 15 UT.
Observations are expected to resume 18 UT on Thursday."

If they would say, WHY, I would be less inclined to think it's because they need to >>DUCK!<< something.

Yes, I'm perennially susss-pishhh-usssss.

Nobody's perfect.

sts60
2003-Mar-03, 05:48 PM
Uhh.... they did say why. They're maneuvering the vehicle.

You always cover up your imager when you're maneuvering a vehicle. Avoids pointing sensors at the Sun, avoids pointing the sensor into the velocity vector and collecting debris, etc.

Hale_Bopp
2003-Mar-03, 05:51 PM
Interesting...the most recent LASCO image is from 16:42 UT. Guess they are a little behind schedule.

Rob

chaiyah
2003-Mar-03, 06:00 PM
What are some of the reasons that they might want to move or maneuver the vehicle?

I presume nothing because I'm a newbie.

sts60
2003-Mar-03, 07:53 PM
Off the top of my head - not that's there's much else left up there to come off /phpBB/images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif - it sounds like ("orbit trim") they're doing a routine maneuver to keep the orbit parameters the way they want them.

In plain English, all spacecraft orbits need tweaking periodically - gravitational perturbations, radiation pressure, atmospheric drag (for vehicles orbiting close enough to the Earth), whatever, tend to nudge it a little bit. It will eventually drift away from its desired orbit if uncorrected.

The Shuttle and Station do indeed occasionally maneuver to "duck" something (space junk). Probes way out like SOHO rarely if ever do this.

<font size=-1>[ This Message was edited by: sts60 on 2003-03-03 14:57 ]</font>

ktesibios
2003-Mar-03, 09:32 PM
On 2003-03-03 13:00, chaiyah wrote:
What are some of the reasons that they might want to move or maneuver the vehicle?

I presume nothing because I'm a newbie.

I humbly beg to differ about that second sentence.