PDA

View Full Version : Please suggest - Astronomy Lovers !

vkp
2006-Mar-11, 04:20 AM
Hello !

I am from India - My name is Varun.I a student of XII grade and have done the amateur astronomy course from S.P.A.C.E (Science Popularisation Association of Communicators and Educators)

I am into astrophotography but always do it with my friends.I have a 2 inch telescope and a good pair of binoculars (114m/1000m).

I want to take the pleasures of astrophotography by capturing those orion hayden,messier objects,galaxies and supernovas.For this I need to buy a good telescopic camera and till now consider me a total novice in this field of selecting good telescopic cameras(be it CCD,infinityscopes, etc. etc.)

I thought baut would be a gud place which can help me out in this endeavour.Please suggest about the same so that I can make purchase at the earliest.:dance:

Thanks alot !;)

paul f. campbell
2006-Mar-11, 02:14 PM
Hi Varun. I have a Meade etx 125 and a sac 7 ccd camera. My next scope will be a Meade lx200 10 inch and a new canon dslr . If you want to take great deep space photos you will want to get a scope 8 inch's or bigger. I know auto scopes are not cheep but if you have the money thats the way to go {I think}.

Iceman has a large dobs on a tracking platform. It looks good and it takes great planet photos. I think his planet photos are the best I have seen on this forum. That would be a good way to go to.

There are also small apature scopes out there that take great deep space photos but they cost lots of money. good hunting Paul

Fr. Wayne
2006-Mar-11, 02:14 PM
Look in Astronomical Observing...etc. Forum// Scroll down through pages for your particular interest. Good hunting!

Dave Mitsky
2006-Mar-11, 05:55 PM
Astrophotography and imaging other than quick "snapshots" of the Moon, the Sun, and the bright planets is usually quite involved and can be extremely expensive.