PDA

View Full Version : New User Registration Problem



Jeff Root
2006-Apr-02, 02:46 PM
Someone in Australia who is interested in the subject of a thread
I've been participating in (about the appearance of the Moon's
terminator relative to the position of the Sun) just e-mailed me,
saying that he is unable to register:


However all attempts to register have failed. Would you be able to
refer me and suggest a pass word set that will be accepted? I have
tried four, six and ten digits without success, Or they ask for a
referrers name.
I looked in the alphabetical list of members and did not find his
name there. He does have a common first name: Bill.

What should I tell him to do?

Also, how can one search directly for a specific member name?

-- Jeff, in Minneapolis

antoniseb001test
2006-Apr-02, 03:24 PM
Hmmm. Pardon the double name. I'll be getting rid of this account as soon as I'm done here. I had no difficulty registering a new user. I left the referrer line blank. I used a password with six characters and two digits, though I suspect a single character would have been sufficient.

Some people are forbidden to register because their particular IP address has been used by someone who is banned, and rejoins with a new name. If you can find his/her IP address we can check this out for you.

Concerning a specific member name... so far to me, the system has seemed kind of awkward. Usually after about five clicks I can get to the specific name I want to investigate.

antoniseb
2006-Apr-02, 03:42 PM
Concerning the name Bill, we have about 35 user names that start with bill or Bill. You can see the list by going to Members List on the bottom bar of the screen, then clicking on the "B", and going to screen 12 (and top of 13). He can't pick a duplicate of any previous name.

HenrikOlsen
2006-Apr-02, 03:44 PM
There's a lot of users starting with Bill, oncluding one named Bill.

Are you sure he hasn't just hit the problem of trying to register with a name that's already taken?

Edit to say: click on Members List, click on Search Members, type Bill, Click Go.
No need to guess how far you have to go from the initial letter.

Jeff Root
2006-Apr-02, 03:45 PM
Thanks, antoniseb.

His name is Bill Denheld, and he gave me this link to his
website: www.pixmaker.com.au/moonsun/moonsun.html

I don't know much about how IP addresses work. This is from
the header of his e-mail to me:



Received: from mail1.ains.net.au (mail1.ains.net.au [202.126.109.237])
(clamdscan: 0.87/1084. spamassassin: 2.63. Clear:RC:1(202.126.108.30):.
Received: from ains-202-126-108-30.ains.net.au (HELO bill) (202.126.108.30)


-- Jeff, in Minneapolis

Jeff Root
2006-Apr-02, 03:52 PM
There's a lot of users starting with Bill, including one named Bill.

Are you sure he hasn't just hit the problem of trying to register with a name that's already taken?
That was my first guess, and what I suggested to him in my reply.
He didn't tell me what name(s) he tried to use to register.

I looked in the alphabetical list for "Bill Denheld", found a lot of
Bills when I finally reached the right page, and quit when I found
no exact match at that point in the list. I could have kept looking
through the rest of the Bills...

-- Jeff, in Minneapolis

antoniseb
2006-Apr-02, 04:20 PM
I've sent him an email suggesting alternate names, and otherwise offering help.

Fraser
2006-Apr-02, 04:31 PM
Yeah, it sounds to me like he's trying to register a name that's already taken. Either that or he doesn't understand that he needs to register first before he can post. He's entering in the login name he'd like to have, but it doesn't exist so he's getting an error.

jkmccrann
2006-Apr-03, 04:46 AM
Don't forget, we've only had the Internet for a few months down here in Australia, takes a bit of getting used to. ;)

ToSeek
2006-Apr-03, 02:10 PM
Don't forget, we've only had the Internet for a few months down here in Australia, takes a bit of getting used to. ;)

No worries, mate!

Enzp
2006-Apr-03, 09:15 PM
You do realize that to connect to the North American internet sites from Australia, you have to turn your computer upside down?

Jeff Root
2006-Apr-03, 10:08 PM
You do realize that to connect to the North American internet sites
from Australia, you have to turn your computer upside down?
No, Enzp, the servers in Australia do that automatically now.
Until a few months ago you had to do it yourself. And you
never had to turn the whole computer upside down. Either
the monitor or the RAM, but not both. If you turned both
over they would cancel each other out.

-- Jeff, in Minneapolis