PDA

View Full Version : New (very confused) member

creitz
2006-Apr-06, 03:39 PM
I have just joined this forum, and my initial impression is one of confusion, as most of the messages seem to be incomprehensible and out of context, but I have come across some great nuggets of opinion. My problem is that I have no science background whatsoever, but I am fascinated by cosmology, and I have great difficulty understanding some of the theoretical concepts. My big thing at the moment is the urgent need to devote all our resources and energies to unmanned science exploration, rather than to adventure and exploration. Also, living as I do in Canada, I hope that Americans and the American public recognize that, although NASA has been doing a magnificent job over the years, it is not the only game in town. This was forcefully brought home to me when I saw that wonderful "Nova" documentary on PBS this week about the Cassini-Huygens Project. THAT is what the exploration of space should be all about. Out of respect, I will not comment on the current American administration's budget priorities, but George Bush really will be remembered with respectby the rest of the world in future ages if he channels all available funds to science rather than to adventure and exploration. In addition, the American public should not lose sight of the fact that, although NASA is leading the way, it is only one cog in humanity's giant wheel of research into what it all means, where everything comes from, and where it will all end.

farmerjumperdon
2006-Apr-06, 03:42 PM
Welcome aboard, and yes, that was an excellent program.

JohnW
2006-Apr-06, 03:51 PM
I agree with most of what you said, creitz, but why the distinction between "science" and "adventure and exploration"? Science is adventure and exploration!

NEOWatcher
2006-Apr-06, 04:19 PM
I have just joined this forum, and my initial impression is one of confusion, as most of the messages seem to be incomprehensible and out of context,