PDA

View Full Version : Upgraded software on the server



Fraser
2006-May-19, 05:23 AM
I just upgraded some software on the server to try and smooth out its performance and tighten the security. As always, there's a risk something else will break, so please let me know if you notice anything strange or unexpected happening. Especially if the server rejects a post you try to do, or something like that.

Thanks!

hhEb09'1
2006-May-19, 01:25 PM
Here's something weird. I get notification that there is a new post (http://www.bautforum.com/showthread.php?p=746073#post746073) to the Does light have mass? (http://www.bautforum.com/showthread.php?t=21477) thread, but it doesn't show up on the page display. Part of it appears when I do a search, and I get that link to it, but it still doesn't appear, for me, when I go to the link.

PS: I just tried to reply to the thread, and I can see the post in the thread summary below the dialogue box. Weirder.

PSS: Now that I've posted, everything seems fixed. Ken G's post ended up as the first post of a new fifth page of posts, with my reply following.

ToSeek
2006-May-19, 05:22 PM
Sometimes my browser seems to use a cached version of the page rather than the latest version - I have to force a reload to get the latest and greatest.

Fraser
2006-May-19, 05:28 PM
That's exactly the kind of unusual thing I'm talking about. I'll look into that.

hhEb09'1
2006-May-19, 09:56 PM
Sometimes my browser seems to use a cached version of the page rather than the latest version - I have to force a reload to get the latest and greatest.Yeah, but that didn't work this time. D*ngdest thing. I could actually do a search for the post (because it appeared as the latest post in the forum list) and search's link would not bring it up! I even took down the browser and started over. It only appeared when I replied to the thread, and made another post. Then, it was there.

Van Rijn
2006-May-19, 11:12 PM
One small thing - I opened a thread and a previous post of mine had no avatar and the statement "Van Rijn is invisible." Makes me wonder if my elf's invisibility is catching . . .

A quick refresh cleared it right up. Not a big deal, but I haven't seen it before. I wouldn't have mentioned it except for the request.

Dragon Star
2006-May-19, 11:18 PM
I don't know if it is related, but here lately I have had to force some images to show up, such as avatars and the Forum Icons at the top of the page. In the last few hours it has happened much less though.

cjl
2006-May-20, 03:43 AM
I had to do that too, but recently it has been subsiding...

Dragon Star
2006-May-20, 03:46 AM
I had to do that too, but recently it has been subsiding...

It seems to come and go, sometimes you open a page and only 1 image doesn't show, the next you have half the pictures gone.

Van Rijn
2006-May-20, 08:38 AM
Is that traffic related, I wonder? It would be an interesting way to manage high traffic load - shedding low priority avatar displays.

Fraser
2006-May-20, 02:22 PM
I guess it would. I'm not sure how much, though. The traffic on the site is at the point that we do need to start considering how to optimize the speed. I'm also thinking of upgrading the server again to handle more load.

ToSeek
2006-May-22, 06:08 PM
Recently pages full of posts seem to take much longer to come up. Before, it was seemingly instantaneous. Now it seems to take several seconds.

Fraser
2006-May-22, 06:29 PM
There are still going to be spikes in traffic, especially since Bad Astronomy is on the same server. Whenever Phil does a new post it makes things busy.

The Bad Astronomer
2006-May-22, 08:59 PM
... and today is a busy blog day, since I was linked from Pharyngula. :-)

Tog
2006-May-25, 10:51 AM
I've been trying to post something in another thread for about 30 minutes now and it keeps giving me an error message. What details do you need?

Fortis
2006-May-26, 11:15 PM
For the last few days I have been unable to get to the forum. Typing the URL

www.bautforum.com

into the browser just resulted in an error message appearing that told me that there was a problem with the software at the Bad Astronomy forum and to report the problem in an e-mail. It looked like an error message generated by the website rather than my browser.

Today is the first day that I have been able to log on in a while. :(

Roy Batty
2006-May-27, 01:18 PM
Interesting. Did you try accessing it via the BA or UT website links as well?

Fortis
2006-May-27, 09:55 PM
Interesting. Did you try accessing it via the BA or UT website links as well?
No. I just entered the url www.bautforum.com into my browser (IE) and it gave me the website generated error message. Perhaps there is some redirection that went wrong?

hhEb09'1
2006-May-28, 01:41 AM
Yeah, but that didn't work this time. D*ngdest thing. I could actually do a search for the post (because it appeared as the latest post in the forum list) and search's link would not bring it up! I even took down the browser and started over. It only appeared when I replied to the thread, and made another post. Then, it was there.Just happened again on another thread and I showed up here to report it--and I couldn't see Fortis's latest response, until I replied!

Dragon Star
2006-Jun-01, 07:56 PM
Alright, new problem.

Now not only am I getting picture problems, but I am being harassed by the message on the attachment below every time I have a page with missing pictures.

2770

Even if I click the provided link it gives me the same window.

ToSeek
2006-Jun-01, 09:25 PM
Alright, new problem.

Now not only am I getting picture problems, but I am being harassed by the message on the attachment below every time I have a page with missing pictures.

2770

Even if I click the provided link it gives me the same window.

I got that message once. I just reloaded, and the page came up fine.

HenrikOlsen
2006-Jun-01, 10:04 PM
I've gotten that a couple of times as well, for me it was also just a reload to get through.

Dragon Star
2006-Jun-01, 10:44 PM
Not me, it sticks until I go to another web-page, and then back to BAUT.

ToSeek
2006-Jun-02, 10:02 PM
Am I obtuse, or did we just start getting the "<Poster name> is online now" message today?

Dragon Star
2006-Jun-02, 10:05 PM
I have had it for a week. Along with "<members name> Avatar"...

ToSeek
2006-Jun-02, 10:46 PM
Well, I was away for most of the past week, but I suppose I should have noticed a couple of days ago.

Tog
2006-Jun-02, 11:28 PM
I also have one that I thingk is new. if I go to the last post in a subscribed thread, let's say post #94. then scroll back tot he top to the FIRST UNREAD button, it takes me to the top of the current page, in this example #91, even if the first unread post is #72. It still shows the posts are unread if I go back through tha pages, but the link doesn't leave the page. I don't think it was that was until recently.

And Yes, I've been seeing, the text of <name>'s avatar in place of the picture, but on one I noticed that when I moved to the next block of 30, the pic reappeared.

Dragon Star
2006-Jun-02, 11:39 PM
Sounds like the wheels are coming off the wagon.:D

Fraser
2006-Jun-03, 03:02 AM
I saw that avatar too. It's a custom thing. That user made the picture themself. Very clever.

Dragon Star
2006-Jun-03, 03:18 AM
I saw that avatar too. It's a custom thing. That user made the picture themself. Very clever.

No.

2775

Fraser
2006-Jun-03, 07:17 AM
No, those are just missing graphics. I saw that someone had actually made a graphic that was just text that said their avatar.

Dragon Star
2006-Jun-03, 07:21 AM
Well, perhaps, but thats not the case with me at least, I get it on almost every page with different people, is it just due to the traffic?

Kaptain K
2006-Jun-03, 07:37 AM
I get them while the "real" avatar loads. You folks with broadband don't know what you're not missing! ;)

Tog
2006-Jun-03, 08:56 AM
I get them while the "real" avatar loads. You folks with broadband don't know what you're not missing! ;)

What is this 'loads' of which you speak?:D

Kaptain K
2006-Jun-03, 10:17 AM
[Brain voice] Pinky, if I could reach you, I would hurt you![/Brain voice]

Roy Batty
2006-Jun-03, 05:10 PM
We're too fast.. Beep beep!:D

Fram
2006-Jun-03, 07:10 PM
The one Fraser thinks about is perhaps the "I am not a" avatar someone (a regular, but I forgot who!) has. It links perfectly with the text beneath his name, which makes it a great avatar.

Dragon Star
2006-Jun-03, 07:13 PM
Ah, I know who your talking about.

mickal555
2006-Jun-04, 04:59 AM
The Radiation specialist I think...

HenrikOlsen
2006-Jun-04, 09:35 PM
The is offline and blah's Avatar are probably because when an image doesn't have a size specified and does have altenative text, Firefox renders it as plain text.
Apparently, under heavy load, the server drops image requests, so such things as the little ball after the name which indicates the online/offline status is replaced with the text.
I've also seen it on the Forum display, where the small boxes that link to next unread were replaced with the complete text.
It looks like it happens on clusters together with the Not permitted to enter (http://www.bautforum.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=2770) message, which definitely makes me think it's overload management (or even genuine ressource starvation errors)

TheBlackCat
2006-Jun-06, 07:48 PM
Has anybody else been unable to access any Bad Astronomy website for the last few days? I haven't been able to access the main page, blog, or forums for several days now, although I could access the blog entries through thunderbird I was not recieving the comments like I usually do and could not reach the actual blog page. Then suddenly today everything is back to normal. It seems other people have posted on the forum in the meantime. Is this just me or did anyone else have a similar problem?

Dragon Star
2006-Jun-06, 07:53 PM
I had a bit of trouble yesterday for about 30min but other then that it is been up for me and many others.

It seems as though there are a lot of different problems as of late. Probably have to upgrade soon...

Swift
2006-Jun-08, 12:44 PM
I had some problems last night, between about 10 and 11 p.m. EST. There were periods when I could connect and others where I would get that 'can't find that website' error.

mickal555
2006-Jun-08, 02:04 PM
Ditto that swift

I also seem to be getting a lot of theese lately.

Invalid Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator

Swift
2006-Jun-08, 02:50 PM
The other weird thing I have is that sometimes, if I use the Quick Reply box, my post doesn't get posted (things just seem to hang), but work fine with the regular Post Reply system.

ToSeek
2006-Jun-08, 03:07 PM
The other weird thing I have is that sometimes, if I use the Quick Reply box, my post doesn't get posted (things just seem to hang), but work fine with the regular Post Reply system.

Same here. If I then go to "Advanced" and try to post, it goes in right away.

HenrikOlsen
2006-Jun-08, 05:57 PM
My guess is that since it happens at the same times when some other files aren't loaded, it's one of the .js files the editor uses that aren't loaded correctly.

TheBlackCat
2006-Jun-08, 06:34 PM
It happened gain to me today. 3am it was fine, when I visited again at noon I couldn't get in. I checked several times since then but couldn't get in. I tried about 3 minutes ago, couldn't get in, but now I can. It says it cannot connect to the server. I've tried firefox and internet explorer, both with and without my firewall on.

mickal555
2006-Jun-09, 05:47 AM
12:30am AEST (2pm GMT) completly wouldn't let me in...

Fraser
2006-Jun-09, 01:49 PM
I noticed that all the websites from our provider were unavailable at that time. It lasted about 10 minutes or so.

Tinaa
2006-Jun-10, 06:34 PM
Sorry, but you're not permitted to enter this section. Please return to the Bad Astronomy and Universe Today homepage.

I've received this several times today when trying to access a thread, the home page or one of the forums. It works after I wait a few minutes and try again.

ToSeek
2006-Jun-10, 10:10 PM
I've received this several times today when trying to access a thread, the home page or one of the forums. It works after I wait a few minutes and try again.

I get it occasionally, but even trying again right away seems to work most of the time.

Fraser
2006-Jun-13, 03:33 AM
Phil has just installed some software that will reduce BA's load on our server. I'm already noticing an improvement to the performance.

TheBlackCat
2006-Jun-18, 05:27 PM
I happened again. This time I haven't been able access badastronomy.com, the blog, or the forums since last weekend.

Tensor
2006-Jun-21, 04:36 PM
Ok Fraser, here's one I haven't seen. I was looking for someone in the Members List section. If I clicked on the page number along the top, I got a message saying I wasn't authorized in that part of BAUT. However, if I clicked on the drop down that lets me enter the page number, and enter the page number, the page came right up.

HenrikOlsen
2006-Jun-21, 04:59 PM
Seen and commented on before, just reload.

Tensor
2006-Jun-21, 05:03 PM
Seen and commented on before, just reload.


Ahhhhh, ok Thanks Henrik. I didn't see it.