PDA

View Full Version : Bad Astronomy in Community College

Pip
2006-May-31, 01:36 AM
I'm a high school student currently enrolled in classes a the local community college. One of the classes I'm taking is an Astronomy course. Now, there's nothing wrong with the class, the professor is pretty entertaining and the class has been a good learning experience as far as the basics are concerned; but today something made me want to pound my head through a wall.

I was sitting there, waiting to take a test, and some guy behind me was talking on his cell phone and says somethign to the effect of: "No, I'm not doing anything, I'm just waiting here to take my astrology test." :wall:

Now, I understand that there are lab science requirements to get your associates degree and not everybody intends to go into a scientific field, but is it really that hard to remember the name of the class you're in? Is it honestly that hard to remember the difference between what is and is not science? There's got to be a point where it ceases to be an honest mistake and becomes willful ignorance.

Maybe this isn't a case of bad astronomy. Maybe it's just a case of people not caring enough about their education.

NEOWatcher
2006-May-31, 12:11 PM
SNIP
I was sitting there, waiting to take a test, and some guy behind me was talking on his cell phone and says somethign to the effect of: "No, I'm not doing anything, I'm just waiting here to take my astrology test." :wall:

A good followup would be to tell us what his score on the test was (probably not possible). I'm sure it wasn't very good (At least it better be).

HenrikOlsen
2006-May-31, 01:52 PM
I have to say it sounds like an honest mistake, I also occasionally get the words confused.
After all, they're just labels for the concepts and it's the concepts I consider important(to be able to distinguish).

Sp1ke
2006-May-31, 02:59 PM
I bet he got a pass - this is a good week for Scorpios to take tests.

hhEb09'1
2006-May-31, 03:09 PM