PDA

View Full Version : How is sunrise determined?

Spiro
2003-Apr-08, 01:25 PM
:D I wonder if you could help? I hope I don't appear too foolish.
I am studying acupuncture and the topic of energetic movement. This study brings into question the clocked times that the Chinese used to measure Chi energy movements through our bodies. This is my first look into the subject In my understanding, the Chinese used a "Ke" measure that divided the 24 hr day into 100 parts,Ke's. The charts then divide the flow of energy based on this premise. My instructor also theorized that based on information from the ancient text "the Ling Shu" he can postulate that the noon hour is when the sun is directly overhead and that this is truly mid day. Therfore the chart has to be adjusted based on the time of sunrise Based on this concept we take the time of sunrise and sunset and count the number of daylight hours and divide that in half and add that number to the sunrise time to arive at the hour "that is true noon", then we subtract or add the time difference to adust our watches accordingly. This will allow us to maximize our treatment based on utilizing the natural cycle and flow of Chi.
I would be interested in your perspective of this varriation of noon from the chinese Ke system. Also I have experienced much confusion trying to find out when sunrise and sunset occur. Each source of internet weather stations don't seem to agree, they seems to have different times posted for sunrise and sunset. When I was in the mountains last month, I joked that sunrise would depend on which side of the mountain you stood at, my joke seems to have taken on life. How can I know which souce is correct?

russ_watters
2003-Apr-08, 02:16 PM