PDA

View Full Version : Light - does it have "age"

Beards
2006-Aug-14, 06:51 PM
So my first thread - oooh how exciting!!

Right guys I've got a bit of a poser for you. As I understand it anything that travels at the speed of light travels (from it's reference point) instantaneously from one place to another. So in effect all the light we see is of the same "age" and never gets any "older". Is this correct? If so how can that be? Could it be that what we see as light may be a glimpse into some other dimension which appears frozen in time from our perspective?

I'm having real trouble trying to understand exactly how light "works" and its properties at relatavistic speeds. I'm rather new at this and have no grounding in physics or maths so if you could try and explain in laymans terms as best as possible I'd be eternally grateful.:)

Beards.

grant hutchison
2006-Aug-14, 07:01 PM
Think of it as a letter.
Your friend in the next town sends you a letter, and it arrives a couple of days later. Your friend on the other side of the world sends you a letter, and it arrives a week later. The text in both letters has stayed exactly the same during transit, and yet one friend is two days older when you read her letter, while the other is a week older.
Likewise, there's no paradox in a photon that experiences no passage of time bringing you news from places that are ageing while the photon travels.

Grant Hutchison

Ken G
2006-Aug-14, 11:55 PM
And to extend Grant's argument to cosmological redshifts, it is as though light coming from billions of years in the past is a letter being sent to a Lilliputian-- the letters appear much larger when opened by our tiny selves, just like the wavelengths from the distant past.

grant hutchison
2006-Aug-15, 12:08 AM