PDA

View Full Version : Was Copernicus "Accepted" by the Church?

Starshark
2006-Aug-18, 04:26 PM
Hello, all. I'm a history student, currently I'm studying the Renaissance (and the Vietnam War... but there isn't a lot of astronomy in that course...).

I'm doing a tutorial presentation (I don't know how you do it in the US, but at my university, students take it in turn to present the weekly tutorial with a 'topic for the week'. A bit like 'show and tell' for University students.) on Copernicus, Galileo, and the Scientific Revolution.

Now, I had once heard that Copernicus's theories were accepted, privately, by the Church because they allowed for a more accurate calendar. In fact, I had heard that Copernicus was in fact recruited by the church to try to make the calendar more accurate. Publicly was a different matter, of course - we couldn't admit that the Bible isn't the True word of God, now, could we?

Does anyone know where I could find info on this? Failing that, any good resources on Copernicus and reactions to his theories? Sites with primary evidence would be most appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help.

(I am doing my own research on this, but I like to ask BB's for additional information as it increases my chances of finding that odd bit of detail no-one else has considered.)

Gillianren
2006-Aug-18, 04:55 PM
If it's secret, it's really secret--as in, the Church hasn't released it even now. However, given Copernicus's own fears--which he told several people--I should say it's very unlikely. After all, how would the Church have known what he was working on? He didn't publish until he was dying.

George
2006-Aug-18, 11:41 PM
Now, I had once heard that Copernicus's theories were accepted, privately, by the Church because they allowed for a more accurate calendar.