PDA

View Full Version : New Zealand

Andromeda321
2006-Sep-22, 06:33 PM
Well I got the news today that my study abroad has been approved! This means that next semester I will be spending February to July at the University of Auckland in New Zealand! :D I am really excited about this, as I think it's going to be really awesome.

So that having been said, who here wants to lend their sage advice on all things Kiwi? :)

lti
2006-Sep-23, 12:51 AM
Awesome! Im currently studying a BE at UoA. What made you decide to study here of all the places in the world?

Kiwi
2006-Sep-23, 10:59 AM
So that having been said, who here wants to lend their sage advice on all things Kiwi? :)

I guess I might be able to. :D

Good to hear you're coming this way. Pity you're going to Auckland, although I suppose it might be a little better than some overseas cities. Aucklanders look down their noses at the rest of us Kiwis, but we tend to think of them with great pity, if we think of them at all! Their volcanoes might re-light sometime.

If you want to get a good idea of our scenery and some of our people and history, get hold of the 2-DVD set "Billy Connolly's World Tour of New Zealand" (Language warning regarding the in-concert clips). There are some good views of Auckland. At 1:12:11 on disc 1 Connolly says something that must be very painful for a Scotsman -- he admits that our southern fiords are nicer than Loch Lomond. I've done a comprehensive 5-1/2 page index of the DVDs, naming many sights and locations. If anyone would like a copy do me a personal message with your email address and I'll send it.

Make sure you plan to get to some dark-sky areas to view our far-superior skies -- LMC, SMC, Omega Centauri, and 47 Tucanae are naked-eye sights.