PDA

View Full Version : Second Life

greenfeather
2006-Oct-01, 02:27 PM
Hi folks,
I was reading my son's WIRED Magazine and there was an article about the virtual world Second Life. Well, I may be a little older than the usual computer geek (55 years old to be exact) but I do kind of like creating fantasy worlds. I am a science fiction writer after all! And I do like trying to create planets in Bryce. AND I can't wait to try the game SPORE when it comes out!

So, I want to know if anyone here has tried Second Life and is it cool or is it a rip-off. I would like to be able to just look around without actually buying stuff (I really don't need a set of male genitals, :lol: ). And I don't really have a million hours to get wrapped up in it because I do have a Real Life (translation: a boring job where I'm on the computer all day.)

What do folks think about Second Life? And also, I'm kind of leery about putting out credit card info over the net. Amazon.com owns my identity and soul, but I'm cautious about other things.

Doodler
2006-Oct-01, 05:52 PM
I've been in a science fiction game akin to Second Life called Entropia Universe.

It can get pretty expensive pretty quickly. I dropped something like $700 in three months in Entropia. I don't regret it, but there's no way I could have kept that pace up.

As far as account security, you can't swipe your plastic anywhere without risking compromise, so why live in fear of what could theoretically be inevitable?

antoniseb
2006-Oct-01, 05:59 PM
I've played Second Life for a while. I didn't do much with it, and haven't done it in a couple months, because I'm pretty busy these days.

To me the potentially interesting aspect was writing code to make objects in the Second Life universe that were interesting or valuable. I made a few clumsy things, and understand what it would take to make better things.