PDA

View Full Version : Would this collapse under its own weight?

Desert_SW
2006-Oct-19, 02:33 AM
If you built a "hollow" pyramid-like structure out of some kind of futuristic carbon nanotube tubing that was like 60 miles x 60 miles x 60 miles? You know how they do that triangular construction for strength minus the weight? I'm not talking about just a shell but reinforced all throughout the inside too.

Not that it'd be practical to build..but would it collapse? I'm assuming it would but I'm no engineer.

antoniseb
2006-Oct-19, 12:11 PM
No, this could be built in a way that would make it strong enough to stand. Please note that the building material you describe doesn't exist yet.

I'm guessing that you'd want this not so much to be a pyramid as a 300 mile long ramp. If the tubes were made of Carbon sucked out of the air, this could have a big impact on global warming. That would be a lot of Carbon.

Desert_SW
2006-Oct-19, 12:17 PM
Maybe the pyramid would be overkill but if a simpler ramp could be built maybe that'd have benefits over a space elevator?

I think we're within a decade or two of mastering the use of CNT's. We already have the ability to make long thin sheets of it.

antoniseb
2006-Oct-19, 12:26 PM
Maybe the pyramid would be overkill but if a simpler ramp could be built maybe that'd have benefits over a space elevator?

A ramp could be used for the launch by rail idea, which might be easier to make than the space elevator, though it could also (if built on the equator) be used as the Earth-side base for the space elevator, and thereby reduce some of the concerns about the impact of weather on the ribbon.

Concerning the ramp vs. Pyramid, I think it would still need a 30 mile wide base for the part that is 60 miles tall.

I think we're within a decade or two of mastering the use of CNT's. We already have the ability to make long thin sheets of it.