PDA

View Full Version : If a meteroite (Do I have the right term?) the size of Texas..

Big Bad Boo
2006-Dec-01, 04:57 AM
I was watching the movie Armageddon, and I was wondering about something they said. In the movie, the asteriod/meteor/thinger, about the size of Texas, crashed through the asteriod belt and caused a major meteor shower on earth, creating all kind of major damage.

What is the possibility, if an meteor of that size did "crash through" the asteriod belt, would it actually hit anything IN the belt, or are the asteriods too far apart? And if it did hit them, would they actually head towards Earth, or would they scatter? I'm thinking they would scatter about...

But I'm no expert on anything. That's why I'm asking. :)

BISMARCK
2006-Dec-01, 05:39 AM
I'm no expert either, but everything I've read about the asteroid belt says that each asteroid of any appreciable size are so far from each other that if you were standing on one of them, you'd need a good telescope to even see the one closest to you.

So, I'd guess that an asteroid the size of Texas, large though it is, most likely wouldn't hit anything other than dust when crossing the asteroid belt.

I suppose.

2006-Dec-01, 05:40 AM
What is the possibility, if an meteor of that size did "crash through" the asteriod belt, would it actually hit anything IN the belt, or are the asteriods too far apart? And if it did hit them, would they actually head towards Earth, or would they scatter? I'm thinking they would scatter about...

The Asteroid Belt is not as dense as some might imagine. Routinely, spacecraft pass through it without coming anywhere near an asteroid accidentally. If the spacecraft is desired to pass near one, it must be carefully aimed.